first_imgUpenieks shot a two-day total of 160 (78,82) to earn the Judy McCrae Trophy as individual champion, one stroke ahead of former Varsity Blue and current Guelph Gryphon Sarah Dunning 161 (79,82). She also earns her 10th career OUA all-star nod, along with two other Blues who finished in the top five. Sophomore standout Ellice Hong placed fourth 164 (82,82), while veteran Kelsey Fuchs finished tied for fifth 168 (85,83). Laura Upenieks claimed her second straight and third career individual title, while the women’s team won their seventh straight provincial banner as the 2018 OUA golf championships wrapped up on Tuesday evening (Oct. 16) at Heron Point Golf Links in Ancaster, Ont.Men’s ResultsWomen’s Results Story Links Final Standings – Women’s Team1. Toronto +722. Queen’s +863. Windsor +954. Waterloo +1015. Western +1166. Brock +1417. Laurier +1478. McMaster +1519. Ottawa +214Final Standings – Men’s Team1. Ottawa +502. Western +523. Laurier +634. Waterloo +645. Guelph +656. Queen’s +687. Windsor +698. McMaster +719. Brock +7310. Toronto +7911. Carleton +8012. Laurentian +9013. Ryerson +11514. York +11615. UOIT +12316. Trent +138  Women’s All-Stars (top five First Team, 6-10 Second Team)First TeamLaura Upenieks (Toronto) – 1Sarah Dunning (Guelph) – 2Melanie Burgess (Windsor) – 3Ellice Hong (Toronto) – T5Jasmine Mussani (Queen’s) – T5Kelsey Fuchs (Toronto) – T5Robyn Campbell (Queen’s) – T5Second TeamElanna Lachaine-DeMarchi (Waterloo) – 8Tavia Maurovic (Windsor) – 9Claire Konning (Waterloo) – T10Samantha Zulian (Laurier) – T10 U of T’s men placed 10th overall with a two-day total of 647. Sophomore Jack Allan was Toronto’s top finisher, earning OUA all-star honours after tying for eighth place individually with a 155 (74,81). Mackenzie Raines was four strokes off Allan with a 159 (77,82). Toronto finished with a combined team score of 492, 18 strokes ahead of the OUA silver medalist Queen’s Gaels. Men’s All-Stars (top five First Team, 6-10 Second Team)First TeamMackenzie Carter (Western) – 1Adam Graham (Brock) – 2Anthony Brodeur (Ottawa) – 3Nikishantess Penashue (Windsor) – T4Tyson Turchanski (Waterloo) – T4Second TeamHenry Luel (Laurier) – T6Devin Bartlett (Waterloo) – T6Andrew Cox (Laurier) – T8Jackson Bowery (Western) – T8Nicholas Workun (Ottawa) – T8Michael Reaume (Ottawa) – T8Jack Allan (Toronto) – T8 Sarah Kim rounded out the Blues winning scores, placing tied for 26th with a 191 (92,99). Dave Woods earned OUA coach of the year honours.  For more information, scores and highlights on your favourite U of T athletes and teams, please visit Don’t forget to follow us on Twitter, Instagram, SnapChat and Facebook for the latest and greatest in Varsity Blues intercollegiate athletics.  Print Friendly Versionlast_img read more

Read More